This is the "General NCC Library Information" page of the "Library Resources at NCC" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library Resources at NCC   Tags: ncc_library  

A Library Guide for Students taking Courses at Nevada County Campus
Last Updated: Dec 6, 2012 URL: http://sierracollege.libguides.com/ncclibrary Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

General NCC Library Information Print Page
  Search: 
 

Sierra College Library at NCC

 

As the second largest Library at Sierra College (behind Rocklin), the Nevada County Campus Learning Resource Center contains nearly 20,000 volumes in print, thousands more electronic books (E-books), and a variety of online research databases. The Library is dedicated to helping students succeed in their courses.

Circulation Desk: 530-274-5304

Reference Desk: 530-274-5300 ext. 6091

NCC LRC hours during Fall and Spring Semesters*:

M-Th  9AM - 6:30PM

Fri       9AM - 12 PM

Closed weekends

*Summer Hours are:

M-Th  10AM-6:30 PM

Closed Fri, Sat & Sun

More than Just a Library!

The NCC Learning Resource Center is much more than just a place to find books. We are also the Art Gallery for the NCC Campus and our walls and tables are generally lined with wonderful examples of art. The Library hosts two Art Shows throughout the year: the Faculty Art Show in the Fall and the Student Art Show in the Spring. Come browse any time!

Study Areas at NCC

The NCC Library has study tables and carrels on both the upper (main) floor and on the lower level. There is a Group Study Room on the main level available to groups of three or more (6-7 max). It is first come, first serve. There is a second group study room on the lower floor that is reserved for DSPS students. If no one is using it, groups of 3 or more may ask to use it.

The NCC LRC Staff

Of course, the best part about the Library is its wonderful staff.

Patricia Saulsbury, NCC Coordinator for the Learning Resource Center

Phone: (530)-274-5332           

Fax: (530)-274-5333

psaulsbury@sierracollege.edu

Melinda Thomas, Library Assistant

Phone: (530)-274-5304

mthomas@sierracollege.edu

James A. Huber, Reference Librarian

jhuber@sierracollege.edu

Susan Wilson, Reference Librarian

swilson@sierracollege.edu

Dayle Smidt, Reference Librarian

dsmidt@sierracollege.edu

Ern Chiappari, A/V Technician

echiappari@sierracollege.edu

Welcome to the Library Resources at NCC LibGuide

This library resource guide is designed to help students taking courses at the Nevada County Campus (NCC). As a satellite campus, the NCC Library varies a bit from Rocklin, so having a guide that focuses primarily on our resources should be helpful. Our goal is to make students aware of our many resources, and to be comfortable with the research process. If at anytime you have a question about the guide, or the Library in general, feel free to contact us. 

And as always, you can find lots of good information on the Sierra College Library Website:

 

The Circulation Desk

The Circulation Desk at NCC serves many important functions. First of all, it is where library patrons check-out material. To do so, currently enrolled students and faculty must show their Sierra College ID cards. No exceptions, please. Items from the main collection generally check-out for 3 weeks.

The Circulation desk is also where we hold Reserve Material. These are items (text books, articles, videos, etc) that Instructors have set aside for their students to use. Most items are "library use only" and have a 2-Hour limit on check-out. For many students who cannot afford the textbook, or forgot theirs at home, it is a nice option to have!

Another important function of the Circulation Desk is testing. As the "Testing Center" for the NCC campus, we proctor exams for distance learning courses, as well as administer make-up exams for regular courses. Students are required to show Sierra College ID and sit in designated testing areas.

How Our Collection is Organized

The Library Collection at Sierra College is organized using the Dewey Decimal Classification system. The Dewey system allows us to place items on shelves according to their subject. Each item in the collection has a "call number" on its spine -- this number refers to its subject. The idea is that all books on the same subject should be near each other. Usually it works! Many high schools and public libraries use the same system so most patrons catch on quickly.

Here are the 10 basic categories:

000 Reference works - encyclopedias, newspapers, magazines
100 Philosophy and pyschology
200 Religion
300 Social Sciences - law, education, customs, everyday life
400 Languages
500 Basic sciences - mathematics, chemistry
600 Applied Sciences - technology, medicine, engineering
700 The arts - architecture, painting, music
800 Literature - poetry, novels, plays
900 Geography, biography, and history

Ghidotti Early College High School

All Students enrolled in the Ghidotti Early College High School have access to our collection and use of the library facilities.

For more information on the Ghidotti program, see the following link:

 

Take a Virtual Tour!

About the Author

Profile Image
James Huber -- One of the Reference Librarians at NCC
Contact Info
Send Email

The Reference Desk

Located near the Reference collection, the Reference Desk is the place to ask "research-related" questions such as: "I need to find information about___" or "Do we have any books on___?".

There is almost always a Librarian available to assist students or faculty with any information needs. Please don't hesistate to ask us for help -- that's what we do!

We also can answer reference questions via the telephone (530-274-5304 x6091 or via e-mail at referencedesk@sierracollege.edu


Computer Workstations in the Library

There are 17 computers available for public use in the NCC Library. Each has access to our Library Catalog, our online research databases, and the Internet. In addition, several stations have Microsoft Word and BlackBoard access. Our computers are intended for Library Research and course-related work only, and students are expected to abide by the College's computer-use policies.

We are a Wireless Hot Spot!

The NCC Library offers Wireless Internet Access for students who are currently enrolled and who have purchased their ASSC Activity Sticker. These cost $10 per semester and must be purchased on your MySierra account. To activate the wireless, simply e-mail chartzell@sierracollege.edu or call the Campus Life Office at Rocklin. For more information see the following link:

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip