This is the "Home" page of the "Human Sexuality - Psychology 130, Professor Amber Willis" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Human Sexuality - Psychology 130, Professor Amber Willis   Tags: human_sexuality, psychology_130, sexual disorders, sexuality  

Last Updated: May 7, 2013 URL: http://sierracollege.libguides.com/content.php?pid=303383 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books in the Library

 
Cover Art
Sexuality now : embracing diversity - Janell L. Carroll
Call Number: 306.7 Carr 2010. On reserve for instructor Willis
ISBN: 9780495602743
Publication Date: c2010
Rocklin, Reserve Collection, 2nd floor

Cover Art
Dating and sexuality in America : a reference handbook - Jeffrey S. Turner
Call Number: 306.730973 T948
ISBN: 1851095845
Publication Date: c2003
Rocklin, Main Collection, 2nd & 3rd floors

Cover Art
Transgender history - Susan Stryker
Call Number: 306.768 S928
ISBN: 9781580052245
Publication Date: c2008
Rocklin, Main Collection, 2nd & 3rd floors

Cover Art
Taking sides : Clashing views in human sexuality - selected, edited, and with introductions by William J. Taverner.
Call Number: 155.3 T136ch 2012
ISBN: 9780078050206
Publication Date: c2012
Rocklin, Main Collection, 2nd & 3rd floors

 

Welcome

This guide was created to assist students with the Sexual Disorders research assignment in Professor Willis' Psychology 130, Human Sexuality class, and is based on a guide created by Tina Sixt for English 1A (Hemmerling).  The information about sexual disorders and the following list and descriptions were provided by Professor Amber Willis.  Use the tabs above to find suggested sources for locating books and periodical articles on these topics.  Look up these topics in print or online reference books to get some background information and to help you decide which direction you want to go with your specific research question.

Sexual Disorders

Sexual disorders are related to a particular phase of the sexual response cycle.  Sexual disorders include problems of sexual identity, sexual performance, and sexual aim.  It is important to keep in mind that the diagnosis of sexual dysfunction is made only when the disability persists.  Any of them could occur occasionally or be caused by a temporary factor such as fatigue, sickness, alcohol, or drugs.  According to DSM-IV (the American Psychiatric Association's classification system) there are a dozen or so sexual disorders.  All have to cause marked distress or interpersonal difficulty to rate as disorders.  A brief overview follows: 
 

List of Sexual Disorders

Short Description

 

Paraphilias

Paraphilia is used to indicate sexual arousal in response to sexual objects or situations that are not part of societally normative activity patterns.

Sexual Aversion Disorder

An avoidance of or aversion to genital sexual contact.

Frotteurism

Frotteurism is obtaining sexual arousal and gratification by rubbing one's genitals against others in public places or crowds.

Gender Identity Disorder

Strong and persistent identification of the self with another gender.

 

Vaginismus

Vaginismus is an involuntary spasm of the muscles surrounding the vagina that closes the vagina. Vaginismus Treatment and cure

Fetishism

People with a fetish experience sexual urges and behavior which are associated with non-living objects. Foot Fetishism, Tickling Fetishism, Wet and Messy Fetishism

Female Orgasmic Disorder

A lengthy delay or absence of orgasm following a satisfactory excitatory phase.

Female Sexual Arousal Disorder

A failure of arousal and lubrication/swelling response.

 

Sexual Masochism

Sexual masochism involves acts in which a person derives sexual excitement from being humiliated, beaten, bound, or otherwise abused.

Transvestitism

Cross-dressing by heterosexual males is called transvestic fetishism or transvestitism.

 

Sexual Sadism

Sexual sadism involves acts in which a person derives sexual pleasure from inflicting physical or psychologic suffering on another person.

Dyspareunia

Pain during or after sexual intercourse is known as dyspareunia.

 

Hypoactive Sexual Desire Disorder

A persistently reduced sexual drive or libido, not attributable to depression where there is reduced desire, sexual activity and reduced sexual fantasy.

Male Orgasmic Disorder

A lengthy delay or absence of orgasm following normal excitation, erection and adequate stimulation.

 

Transvestic Fetishism

Men with transvestic fetishism are typically heterosexual, and many have been or are married.

Exhibitionism, Voyeurism, Pedophilia, Sexual Addiction, Premature Ejaculation

Sexual Disorders.

Male Erectile Disorder

Inability to gain an erection or inability to maintain an erection once it has occurred.

 

Sexual Disorder NOS (Not Otherwise Specified):

Many sexual disorders are not classifiable as sexual dysfunctions or paraphilias. These disorders are placed in this residual category.

Sexual Dysfunctions

Sexual dysfunction disorders are generally classified into 4 categories: sexual desire disorders, sexual arousal disorders, orgasm disorders, and sexual pain disorders.

 

Some other Sexual Disorders:

Coprophilia, Coprolalia, Klismaphilia, Urophilia, Hypoxyphilia, Acrotomophilia, Apotemnophilia, Ephebophilia, Gerontophilia, Mysophilia, Somnophilia, Troilism, Transsexualism, Androgen Insensitivity Syndrome, Congenital Adrenal Hyperplasia, Retrograde ejaculation, Urolagnia

 

 

Featured Book

Cover Art
The changing face of sex - Wayne P. Anderson
Call Number: 613.9071 A552
ISBN: 9781936688203
Publication Date: 2012
Rocklin, Main Collection, 2nd & 3rd floors
The Changing Face of Sex is a thorough study of the history of sex by a leading expert in the field of Human Sexuality education. This book chronicles the changes he has witnessed through his own observation and data he has collected from his students, with the 1960s being a critical point of change.

 

More Books in the Library

Cover Art
Sexual outsiders : understanding BDSM sexualities and communities - David M. Ortmann and Richard A. Sprott.
Call Number: 306.775 O77
ISBN: 9781442217355
Publication Date: 2012
Rocklin, Main Collection, 2nd & 3rd floors

Cover Art
The Scientific American book of love, sex, and the brain : the neuroscience of how, when, why, and who we love - Judith Horstman
Call Number: 155.3 H819
ISBN: 9780470647783
Publication Date: c2012
Rocklin, Main Collection, 2nd & 3rd floors

Cover Art
Sex and disability - Robert McRuer and Anna Mollow, editors.
Call Number: 306.7087 S518
ISBN: 9780822351542
Publication Date: 2012
Rocklin, Main Collection, 2nd & 3rd floors

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip