About this guide
This library research guide (LibGuide) is intended to help you find information using the library databases. We begin with sources for finding background information and general overview of a topic to sources for finding more focused information once you've narrowed your topic.
I would love to know if you use this guide, if it's helpful, if you have suggestions!
Accessing the research databases
Sierra College Library's research databases and electronic books are available from off-campus. When you click on a database link you will be prompted to log in with your MySierra username as the username and your student ID number (no spaces or dashes) as the password.
Good Places to Start
The two databases listed below are particulary good starting places. Both compile information from different sources and produce reports providing background and overview of the topic as well as terminology to use in searching other databases. Use the links below or click on the image above to go directly to the report on "Taxation and Tax Reform."
Facts.com has two databases: Issues and Controversies and Today's Science. Issues and Controversies often covers multiple aspects of controversial issues through several articles. Looking at the sidebar for related articles, you can gain a comprehensive picture of the issue and find ideas for research topics.
Congressional Quarterly Researcher provides non-partisan, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Most reports have a link to a Pros and Cons section in the left hand navigation bar.
Reference Books
Reference Books are great sources of background information and overview. Use them also to fact-check information you've found on Wikipedia, etc. The Reference Collection at Rocklin is on the 2nd floor.



Gale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of Reference books you access online. You'll find some of the same titles here as can be found on the shelves in the library and many other titles as well.


Loading...
